Optimal Doctor Strategy - Please Comment!

This forum is for discussion related to the game.
Telamon
Telamon
Watcher
Telamon
Watcher
Watcher

Optimal Doctor Strategy - Please Comment!

Post Post #0 (ISO) » Mon Mar 29, 2004 3:46 pm

Post by Telamon »

Hey there!

I'm a mafia enthusiast and I have just discovered this wonderful forum! I'm an undergraduate student and I'm looking to do an independent research project this quarter on the application of game theory to Mafia. To this end, I have written a Mafia Simulator and AI testbed to generate empiracle statistics from thousands of games (since for large games with many different roles, determining the expected citizen win percent or game length seems impractical if not impossible).

Anyways, on to my question. Right now my mafia simulator plays vanilla games of mafia with only citizens and mafia (no special roles). I thought I would add a doctor role next, since it seems like a simple step. I am having trouble, though, determining the optimal doctor strategy in a game where the doctor is the only special role.

For the sake of argument, let's assume a game of 10 players, with 2 mafia and 8 citizens (1 of whom is the doctor). The obvious doctor strategy is to always save yourself - no other citizen is more worth saving (they have no special roles) and you might save a mafia by accident otherwise. Is this the optimum strategy? I thought so at first, but now I am not so sure.

Argument: Assume both citizens and mafia are rational and the doctor is always saving themselves. If during the night the mafia try to kill someone who doesn't die - that person must be the doctor. Being rational, the mafia will never try to kill that person again. Net citizen gain: 1 save.